On Friday 15th June 50 of the best feeder anglers in the country were joined at Barston Lakes by 10 golden ticket winners for the 2018 Matrix British Feeder Championships.

The 60 anglers were set to battle it out over five hours to be crowned British Feeder Champion and walk away with the trophy and £1000

Talk at the draw was all about peg 124 but recent form hadn’t been great so really no one could call where the winner would come from.

As the match got underway it was slow going for most although Des Shipp had got off to a great start catching skimmers on the short line while Rob Wootton had a couple of early carp which was  leading the early numbers.

Rob got off to a great start but couldn't find that all important match winning fish

At the half way stage of the match it was impossible to call where the winner may come from. The pegs in the 120’s were producing fish but no one looked set for a big weight. Darren Cox was fishing out of his skin in a tough area and regularly putting fish in the net. Rob Wootton had 8 carp in the net but his peg had slowed and he was now struggling. Des Shipp had also slowed and Andy Power at the next peg was finding some big fish on the method in the margin.

Andy Power bagged a couple of big fish down the edge including this beast!

As time was called after 5 hours it was up to the scales to decide the anglers fate. Everyone was keen to weigh in as the top 7 in each 10 peg section would automatically qualify for the 2019 event.  This also meant that some of the Golden Ticket winners could also book their place in the match for the following year.

Coming out on top and 2018 Matrix British Feeder Champion was Des Shipp with a fantastic 113lb, a catch made up of nearly all skimmers taken on the method feeder on the short line. This was just ahead of Rob Wootton who fell just one fish short with 104lb.

Just part of Des Shipp's match winning haul

Individual Placings

1st) Des Shipp (Peg  56) 113lb

2nd) Rob Wootton (Peg 27) 104lb

3rd) Darren Cox (Peg 105) 90lb 4oz

Section Winners:

Wayne  Sharman

Rob Wootton

Des Shipp

Andy Kinder

Darren Cox

Pete Caton

2019 Qualifiers:

Section 1

Wayne Sharman 71lb 8oz

Steve Winter 42lb 12oz

Shane Hodgkinson 36lb 10oz

Lee Edwards 35lb

John O’driscoll 23lb

Graham Johnson 18lb (Golden Ticket Winner)

Mark Downing 16lb (Golden Ticket Winner)

Section 2

Rob Wootton 104lb

Neil McKinnon 53lb 8oz

Jon Arthur 47lb 14oz

Gareth Lambert 46lb

Mick Vials 34lb 8oz

Simon Ellis 33lb 8oz

Geoff Valance 30lb 8oz

Section 3

Des Shipp 113lb

Andy Power 89lb 4oz

Warren Martin 75lb

Daniel Webb 46lb

Lee Wright 37lb

Jamie Harrison 35lb

Dave Roberts 35lb

Alan Scotthorne 35lb

Section 4

Andy Kinder 78lb

Jason Le Bosquet 51lb 12oz

Geoff Ringer 32lb 10oz

Adi Stokes 28lb 4oz (Golden Ticket Winner)

Matt Pillay 24lb 4oz

Nick Speed 23lb 8oz

Adam Wakelin 19lb

Section 5

Darren Cox 90lb 4oz

Rod Scott 38lb

Richie Hull 27lb 8oz

Matt Godfrey 26lb 8oz

Simon Willsmore 19lb

Charlie Simpson 17lb 8oz

Andy Stepney 16lb 12oz (Golden Ticket Winner)

Section 6

Pete Caton 87lb 2oz

Lee Kerry 74lb 13oz

Chris Holmes 64lb 9oz

Andy Leathers 60lb 15oz

Dave Berry 38lb

Adam Rooney 21lb 2oz

James Parkhouse 12lb 4oz (Golden Ticket Winner)